Government Architect

1909 - 1988


The colonial government established the office of the Superintendent of Public Works in 1840 and a Colonial Architect’s office in 1869. William Clayton was the first and only official Colonial Architect from 1869 – 1877, but his work was continued by his chief draughtsman, Pierre Burrows from 1877 – 1884, and by Charles Edward Beatson from 1884 - 1887. Although the title “Government Architect” was often used unofficially, the title was formalised in 1909 to mean the head of the Architectural Division of the Public Works Department. John Campbell led the Architectural Division from 1892 – 1922, and was followed by John Mair from 1923 – 1941; Robert Patterson from 1941 – 1952; Gordon Wilson from 1952 – 1959; Fergus George Frederick Sheppard from 1959 – 1971; John Blake-Kelly from 1971 – 1973; Frank Anderson from 1973 – 1976; and Graydon Miskimmin from 1976 – 1986. The title remained in use until c.1988 when the Ministry of Works and Development was disestablished.

Martin, Lewis E. “Built For Us: The work of Government and Colonial Architects, 1860s to 1960s,” (Dunedin: University of Otago Press, 2004)
Noonan, Rosslyn J. “By Design: A brief history of the Public Works Department, Ministry of Works 1870 – 1970,” (Wellington: AR Shearer, Government Printer, 1975)
Richardson, Peter. “Campbell, John”, from the Dictionary of New Zealand Biography. Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, updated 30-Oct-2012
Schrader, Ben. 'Public buildings - State-sector buildings', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, updated 29-May-12 URL: 
Wagstaff, Blyss and Alison Dangerfield. “Executive Wing (the Beehive), Wellington (List No.9629, Category I),” Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga – List Entry Report for a Historic Place, (2015)
WCC Heritage Inventory 2001


Last updated: 5/2/2016 10:21:41 PM